Gingerbread Men

2012-12-27 11.43.14

What is Christmas without some festive food? 🙂 Someday I may get down to making the savoury stuff but my friends do such a fantastic job of it there really isn’t much point for me to try. So this year I decided to try out the perennial crowd pleaser, Gingerbread Men. I tried a recipe from Betty Crocker but substituted molasses sugar for the molasses and it turned out really dry and, frankly, quite inedible. My bad. I tried again using a recipe from Real Simple. I used treacle this time (which is apparently what the British call molasses. No wonder i couldn’t find molasses anywhere!) and they were delicious!

A touch of icing and a troupe of gingerbread men were ready to be deployed. They were soft, sweet, and spicy. The kids loved them. And they make lovely little table gifts.

You can make the dough in advance and bake the cookies fresh when you feel like it. The kids will have a field day cutting out the gingerbread men and you can mold their arms and legs into funny poses too. Have fun!

2012-12-27 11.45.07

Leave a Reply

